Afro Bop Alliance (featuring Joe McCarthy) Angel Eyes

Zoho Records

“Groove is at the heart of the Afro Bop Alliance’s debut release on ZOHO. While providing exciting Latin-tinged grooves tailor made for dancers, the members of this Washington DC based, Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers-inspired septet keep one foot solidly in the straight ahead jazz camp with their scintillating improvisations and tight three horn frontline. Leader-drummer Joe McCarthy, and newest member Victor Provost bring new sparkle to the proceedings with his virtuosic steel pan playing, as does special guest Paquito D’ Rivera on clarinet.” – Bill Milkowski


  1. The Jinx
  2. Three for Juju
  3. Ziggy the Crooner
  4. Barbara
  5. Homenaje
  6. Nature Boy
  7. Inner Urge
  8. Fete Antilles
  9. Angel Eyes
  10. This is for Albert
  11. Minor Details


Joe McCarthy: drums, percussion, congas
Harry Appleman: piano
Tom Baldwin: bass
Victor Provost: steel pans, vocals
Luis Hernandez: tenor saxophone
Vince Norman: alto saxophone
Tim Stanley: trumpet
Roberto Quintero: percussion, congas

Featuring: Paquito D’Rivera (clarinet), Sara Jones (vocals), Paula McCarthy (violin), Suzanne Orban (cello) and The St. Claire Chamber Strings.

Recent Press Reviews:

Jazz Times
Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange